Turmeric Tales

Let me just say, I’M IN A NEW MOON CYCLE! It’s now time to be introspective and take a short retreat from active, light and dominant aspects of life. After four months of thinking I was either pregnant or very sick, some light bleeding came this morning (after a dream of being on a theme park ride where you get wet at the end), and now I’m having medium flow. I’m very happy that I even posted on Facebook!

Untitled-1

I’m on birth control pills. It’s a low dosage, but I don’t want my reproductive health to rely on BCPs alone. I’ve been doing alternative ways to get my hormones balanced, and I added turmeric to my recent list of things to have to feel good.

Turmeric has a lot of benefits, including improved liver function, protection against cardiovascular diseases, and may lower levels of depression. What many people, especially women of reproductive age, don’t know is that turmeric can be used for fertility issues like irregular moon cycles (periods) and PCOS.

ovary-148111_640
Women with PCOS don’t produce enough hormones that eggs need to mature and pass down the Fallopian tube and into the uterus through ovulation.

Irregular periods are a sign of Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, along with more-than-mild mood swings and increased hair growth on the chest abdomen and toes. PCOS affects women of childbearing age, and it’s hard to pinpoint the actual number of women who have PCOS because they think that having irregular periods is normal, or that they are just plain barren. This makes ovulation and pregnancy very difficult and more stressful, and becomes a tiring vicious cycle. Furthermore, PCOS can turn into endometrial cancer if unreported.

But there is hope, and it goes beyond the OB-GYN’s prescription. Although it helps to talk to one, too.

I found that turmeric can help treat PCOS in several ways. One thing turmeric is known for is that it promotes weight loss and is a digestive aid, and it is necessary for women with PCOS to lose weight if they are overweight or obese (I’m overweight, bordering on obese at 70.1kg). Second, turmeric is an anti-glycemic herb, which lowers blood sugar to safe, normal levels—this is helpful for women who are pre-diabetic or are living with diabetes. It also decreases water retention or bloating (something I’ve been dealing with for the past couple months). Basically, it’s the great normalizer of periods. Turmeric for Health proclaims it:

Turmeric has a property of being an emmenagogue. Emmenagogues are herbs which stimulate blood flow in the pelvic area and uterus, also some of them stimulate menstruation. Turmeric purifies and moves stagnant blood which normalizes menstruation.

Not convinced? Just Google “Turmeric for PCOS” and you got yourself a whole wealth of information for you and your reproductive body.

How do you take in turmeric? There are capsules that are available in pharmacies and specialized health and diet stores like GNC and Healthy Options. But I prefer using powder, which I add to my lemon and honey tea every night, and even on my rice and some dishes. I take in a safe amount of 400mcg of turmeric a day, and thanks to turmeric, I’m slowly losing weight and my period is almost regular.

But of course, you know, turmeric is just a spice. Turmeric is yellow ginger. Simply buying and waiting for some miracle to happen is lazy and ignorant. Add this to your diet as a tea, but don’t forget to do some yoga or run a mile, eat healthy, and keep happy thoughts. Meditate regularly and always smile. Good health means good vibes, so don’t lose them.

Be good!