60-40 Relationship for Holistic and Conventional Practices

For the last year and six months, I’ve been in and out of therapy for my bipolar disorder. The first few months were terrible; I was a mess, and my medicines weren’t totally helping (they were, but only for so long). At the same time, I’ve been diagnosed with PCOS so that means I have to take birth control pills to have regular menses. Before I came to know various holistic health practices and other alternative health practices, I relied very much on what the doctor prescribed, and sucked up the pain and dealt with the ordeal.

pexels-photo-12344
Yoga is holistic. Photo source: pexels.com

When I started practicing yoga in October 2015, my mind opened to a world that I only read in books and saw in movies. I was so disillusioned by everything back then that I thought yoga was a miracle to behold. Months went by and I noticed several changes in the way I think about myself, my community, and the world around (except for politics… I think I’ll always be anti-government or something). I started opening myself to new kinds of treatments to become a better person. And lo and behold, I “discovered” the term holistic health. It soon became my passion to promote holistic health practices in the country, and to various communities who do not have immediate access and finances to conventional medicine.

Currently, I am barely scratching the surface on holistic health. There is so much to learn, and books aren’t enough. The internet only provides me with just the basics. But as I gather more partners for Lemon Water Media, I begin to understand the processes, types, and miracles holistic health brings.

Lavender is known to calm the mind and improve sleep. AROMATHERAPY boiz. Photo source: pexels.com
Lavender is known to calm the mind and improve sleep. AROMATHERAPY boiz. Photo source: pexels.com

There’s one thing, though, that I am pretty much sure of. You can’t fully take out conventional medical practices. Whenever I talk to my friends and they ask me what they should do at home, I tell them to first take a food intolerance exam or talk to a doctor. While yoga, acupuncture and homeopathy (common types of holistic practices) are reported to have huge benefits in mind, body, and emotions, it’s still good to stop by the GP and tell them what’s ailing you. I keep in mind that doctors, who are sometimes under the hammer of large pharmaceutical companies, want you to get better. It’s the same for holistic health businesses. That’s a common quality between them, but it’s best to have a 60-40 rule for both practices.

Please note this is my opinion based on my experiences.

Sixty percent of one’s healing process should be dedicated visiting, studying, and working on different holistic health practices. That involves learning about Ayurvedic medicine, homeopathy, yoga, Reiki and the like, and immersing yourself in them.

Forty percent should be yearly visits to the doctor, annual exams, etc. Some, not all, medications should at least stop at one point.

I still have meds for my bipolar but that's pretty much it. Photo source: pexels.com
I still have meds for my bipolar but that’s pretty much it. Photo source: pexels.com

Here’s another story that kind of proves the 60-40 scenario.

My mom is living with borderline diabetes, so she’s pretty much conscious about her blood sugar. She also has bad appetite (she loves to eat pork fat). She’s suffering from insomnia as well, and has anemia. In short, her overall energy is low due to bad sleeping habits and poor nutrition. MOM IF YOU’RE READING THIS SORRY NOT SORRY.

I tried persuading her to do Yin Yoga with me, and she tried it once, but she is always afraid. I don’t want to force her to do anything, but after a while I did encourage her to work on crystal healing with me. I’m not a certified crystal healer but I can sense energies so I gave her a “prescription” of crystals to put around her aura.

Skip to just a couple of weeks ago and she stopped taking some medicines for her diabetes. Her asthma heals faster (one-two weeks healing process to one month or more). She has more energy (most of the time). Her thinking is slightly more positive than before, and she does look peaceful.

Still, she regularly goes to her doctors for consultation. Yet she is working very well with the crystals I gave her, and she’s expanding her collection, too.

The 60-40 scenario works for both me and my mom (although I think I’m living out an 80-20). And I hope that those who read this might want to take up this scenario and share their experiences with me. Or if you have a similar way of living, why not comment below? I’d love to hear more about your journey with a holistic lifestyle!

lemon-304545_640