Don’t Lead Us On

I’ll keep this really short. It’s a shot too close to the heart, and I feel that I need to speak out about this.

For companies who have candidates with “issues” (i.e. mental or mood disorders), instead of driving them away, adapt to their needs and enhance your company policies with a mental health policy. There are so many wasted energies not being able to sustain themselves financially.

metaphor-1209691_640It is also unprofessional to have someone sign a job offer sheet and make them do all the requirements you ask them to do, only to take back the job offer they signed upon finding out they go to therapy. This is discrimination. It further belittles the person, who needs to work and exercise their mind.

Such a pity that many of us (I live with bipolar disorder) have to go through such pains, only to be neglected and to be labeled as “useless” in the workforce.

You know what companies can do, aside from adding mental health policies to their existing company policy? If and when they have a candidate who is open about their mental health, instead of leading them on and making them do unnecessary work, just tell the candidate they’re not the one you’re looking for. Don’t wait one month before telling them that… after making them do medical tests and updating their data records in all the necessary government agencies.

I apologize for the personal post. I am very tired of this scenario I hear and see about every day. You’d think the corporate world has moved forward.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Lead Us On

  1. Hi @socialmyta. While the world seems to be discriminating in terms of who we are and what have or don’t have, just focus on the energies inspired by people who understands you and believes in you. I am sure there are lots of better (and even life-changing) opportunities out there waiting to be unraveled. Never give up. You can do it. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi @ilovemybodyph. Thank you so much for your kind words. Right after writing this post, I actually got accepted at another job which is much closer to my home. The people are great. My supervisor is everything I want in a mentor. I feel I can grow here. I think I planted myself in the right soil now. All I can feel is sunshine. Hope to see you soon my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.