My Husband’s Vegan Journey So Far

My husband is joining me in becoming vegan, too!

It’s hard to get a man to say yes to veganism, much more if he’s a bodybuilder. My husband relies on his protein—a lot of which he’s allergic to (fish, shellfish, eggs and dairy). Nevertheless, he stocks up on whey protein which gives him mild rashes and slow transformations. When he discovered that there are a lot of vegan bodybuilders out there, and when he saw how buff they are, my husband said that he was willing to give it a try.

I did give him the disclaimer that being vegan is not simply a dietary change, but rather leaving one’s old lifestyle for something much better, for both the self and the world at large. My husband sounds pretty okay with it. Unlike me, my husband grew up eating a diet with more vegetables than meat, so it might be easier for him to transition to the lifestyle.

He also loves a good challenge, so I guess going vegan is a level up for him. He loves knowing that there’s a better version of himself a few lat pulls away. Especially when I tell him * cheeky smile *.

But how does he go through a vegan transition? Like many people out there, the way through a man’s heart is through his stomach. Now let’s see if this same statement can work all the way to his soul (for the sake of the environment).

I know what my husband wants: pizza, burgers, and Filipino comfort food. In Makati, we’re blessed to find that there are a lot of vegan pizzas, burgers, and veganized Filipino comfort food available now; the only question is which one is best for his lunch.

Enter Xobelle’s Food Blisscipline. The vegan venture is owned and managed by husband-and-wife team Raymond (kiss the cook—he’s the chef) and January (who introduced me to their pre-ordered meal service). This intimate business model was one of the reasons to consider them for my husband’s gradual transition into the vegan world. I could see my family being entrepreneurial like them in the future.

I could also my future child as our mascot. Complete with Snapchat filter.

What separates them from the rest is that my husband actually likes the way their food gets cooked. He knows what the ingredients are, he can see what the ingredients are, and the food tastes like (probably) his mom’s (something about sons and their mothers).

Vegetable Cutlets (it's supposed to be 6 but someone already started eating)
Vegetable Cutlets (it’s supposed to be 6 but someone already started eating)

The first things we dove into were the vegetable cutlets (P150.00 for a set of 6). We both like this vegan version of the Spanish croquettas primarily because it’s filling even without putting it on rice (it could be the potatoes and the corn). It’s not at all dry, unlike other similar viands. Vegan or not, anyone loves feeling satisfied on a budget.

Depends on how it was fried though, you might get the occasional burnt cutlet, but it doesn’t take away its original taste.

I had my fill of the Burrito (P50.00) and I instantly love it. I loved it so much that I forgot to make my husband sample it (I owe him one). The nice part about this is the wrap. It’s not so hard, not so soft, and the flavors seep into it. The turmeric rice is to die for. And who knew it packs a punch in such small size.

I devoured this in less than 45 seconds. I regret nothing.
I devoured this in less than 45 seconds. I regret nothing. I’m ordering two of this on Friday (screw carbs! I have yoga on Friday, too!)

Finally, my husband got what he wanted: pizza. Although it was an unexpected type of pizza. The Pizza Twister (P50.00) was sloppy, messy, and fun to eat. It’s in a good size, otherwise if it were any bigger, the flavors would get overwhelming. My husband liked it, but he did say that he’d rather eat more of the cutlets. It was because it was too sloppy and the wrap was wet. For fifty pesos it leaves a good taste in the mouth.

Hard to pick up, but still good to eat.
Hard to pick up, but still good to eat.

My only reservation is that the wraps should be a little thicker so that it doesn’t absorb the oils and moisture too quickly.

I think they’re a good start for anyone transitioning into a vegan diet. They’re affordable and filling—contrary to belief that plant-based meals are expensive and make one starve. They provide good substitutes to their meat counterparts, with more flavor and less guilt.

All the while we talked about what it means to be vegan, and I’m glad that he lets me open up the subject over food. I explained to him that being vegan is saying no to what has always been thought of as right: torturing and killing animals for the sake of our nourishment, ego, and entertainment. He asked the right questions, and I hope I gave him the right answers.

His takeaway was this: Vegan food is not grass. It’s not boring. Veganism is a colorful and active world full of opportunities for growth. And it starts with food. He’ll be switching to vegan comfort food. It’s a good step.

Do you have a spouse who has gone vegan because you’re vegan too? How did the two of you journey together? Share your experiences below!